I Just Knew.

Wedding Jitters,

My hands shaking.

I am not a quitter,

Today is the day I am never going to forget.

 

Still.

I get cold feet,

My hands all sweaty.

Will I be able to fulfil her expectations?

 

I stand here,

Shifting from one feet to another,

As the music starts playing.

God! Its time.

 

Everyone stands,

I take a step back.

Everyone turns,

I look down.

 

And then she enters,

And I hear gasps.

I look up, and there she is.

The only one that I have ever loved.

The only one who I will ever love.

 

Walking down the aisle,

Beaming, her face covered with her smile,

Looking like a dream before my eyes,

And I just knew..

 

Just knew,

How she makes me smile without trying,

How she knows me in and out,

How my agony subsides by her one touch,

I just knew.

I can never turn back from this woman,

My love, my life.

 

Later on, tarantism takes over,

And I sweep her onto the dance floor,

Her laughter, bliss to my ears.

It is these minutiae that I adore,

I treasure. That takes over me.

 

And makes me wonder,

Why did I even think twice?

This feeling surreal, but with her so real.

As dawn approaches, and lights dim down,

People filter out, we move, still afresh.

 

I just knew from the day I met her,

Things were never going to be the same.

And today, after what seems like an eternity,

Life truly never has been and never will be….

21 thoughts on “I Just Knew.

Leave a Reply

